RSS

H1N1 Vaccine — Yea or Nay?

13 Oct

Did that person just spray H1N1 Influenza (swine flu) all over my shirt? Every sneeze and cough is starting to be suspect these days. Will I get it next? Worse yet, will my family and friends get it? These concerns are on a lot of people’s minds lately. In my case, it’s no surprise, since I work at an elementary school. It’s an ideal place for picking up germs, in the best of times. Many children sneeze and cough all over the place and, lucky me, sometimes I’m in close proximi ty to such sprayings.

According to the World Health Organization, 340,000 people have gotten the H1N1 Influenza and 4,100 people have died from it, worldwide. That’s nothing to sneeze at.  (Couldn’t help the pun).   Kidding aside, all of this mswine akes many people consider taking the H1N1 vaccine. Just this past week, the first doses arrived in Michigan. Health care workers will be vaccinated first and eventually, the vaccine should be available to everyone.

Is the vaccine safe? There is an overwhelming amount of information about the H1N1 vaccine on the internet and I’m still taking it all in. At this point, I am leaning toward taking it. However, before I make a final decision, I’d love to hear from others who’ve decided.

Will you or your family take the vaccine?  What was your deciding factor?   Thanks in advance.

~~ Maggie

 
5 Comments

Posted by on October 13, 2009 in Illness

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “H1N1 Vaccine — Yea or Nay?

  1. Nancy Harris

    October 13, 2009 at 8:30 PM

    I think that this vaccine is in the baby stages and too soon to be giving them out. The same thing happened during the Ford administration and that vaccine killed many.

    It is premature and irresponsible to inject us as guinea pigs and hope for the best.

    check out: Dr. Horowitz’s FLUSCAM.com

     
  2. S in SF

    October 13, 2009 at 8:36 PM

    Hi:

    I would never presume to tell anyone how to manage their health, but this is not a new vaccine. It is recommended that people esp. at risk people get both the regular flu shot (if anything esp. the elderly should get that) and the H1N1. I trust you are reading articles based on medical testing rather than idiot celebrities like Jenny McCarthy who are doing real harm to people. Vaccinations are tested and have saved millions of lives around the world for over 50 years. If you are concerned because you have a child, always consult the physician who knows your child best and if there is a valid reason s/he feels your child does not need it then I might hesitate before getting my child the shot and do more research. There will always be certain amount of risk with any medication and while I am not a medical person please consult your physician if you have concerns and make them talk to you honestly and openly about it sometimes you have to force the already busy doctor to give you more time. These days you really have to take charge of your own well being. The doctor is supposed to have your / your child’s best interest at heart. Keep in mind there is also a risk if you don’t get it. I know it can be hard, but weighing the risks I’d definitely have my elderly mother get one. I on the other hand might wait a bit only because my status as a healthy adult wouldn’t allow me to get one now anyway.

     
  3. Molly Quinto

    October 14, 2009 at 2:20 PM

    Hi Maggie,
    I feel that the many vaccines available to us today are taking the place of our immune systems, so that, more and more often when our bodies are called upon to fight something off, they can’t.

    My husband, two children (18 and 20) and I have never had flu shots, and also have never had a nasty flu that made me wish we had. In fact we rarely miss work or school due to sickness, and we’re not even health nuts. I prefer to skip vaccines when possible, so that my body can deal with germs naturally.

    I understand the potential of the swine flu (my friend’s son had a really awful case, but I think their lifestyle set him up with a compromised immune system), but I think it is necessary to allow your natural immunities to step up and fight, because they will then be stronger to fight off the next bug.

     
  4. iluvspidrs

    October 19, 2009 at 9:19 PM

    I’ve never had the flu myself, or gotten sick since I started drinking a glass of orange juice every day. But I’ll probably have to get one of the vaccinations due to working in health care.

     
  5. arian zene

    October 20, 2009 at 1:07 PM

    We are stuck in this industrialised world, full of cemicals. One vaccine more or less, is not going to hurt. I think we better take it. I agree with organic way, with ‘iluvespidrs’, but even that, I am not sure the orange juice is organic. That’s what I did this week. I felt the flu was coming around me and I drenk two three glasses of orange juice(vitamin C) every day and I stopped the flu. From my experience, dealing with a lot of problems of my son’s health, a lot of medical procedures are experimental. So is this vaccine. In the end, we are lucky to chose, in to many parts of the world, that’s not the case.

     

Leave a Reply

 
