RSS

NanoWriMo – creative rush – in 2 weeks

17 Oct

NanoWriMoCan I write “gleefully” and with an “anything goes” approach?  Hmmm… I can do the gleeful part, but the editor part of my brain is protesting to the latter.  For those of you who may not know, NanoWriMo simply means: National Novel Writing Month, which begins November 1st (12:01 AM) and ends at midnight on November 30th.  The (lofty) goal is to write a 50,000 word novel in that time frame.   The main idea is to write freely –without worrying about grammar,  spelling, perfect words, etc.  Sounds challenging, yet fun.

I’ve decided to take on this challenge for two reasons:  First, I’m curious about this entire process and, second, my teenage daughter’s been after me to do it forever and she’s doing it too.  Of course, prior to November 1st, I will start some prewriting.

I look forward to getting my “creative rush” in November.   The question now is – who else is crazy enough to join me?


~~ Maggie

 
5 Comments

Posted by on October 17, 2009 in Writing

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “NanoWriMo – creative rush – in 2 weeks

  1. awalkabout

    October 18, 2009 at 10:45 AM

    Prewriting was an immense relief the year I completed the NaNo challenge. All that stuff about learning your characters, their backgrounds, character sketches and doing a detailed outline so you know where those 1667 words had to go each day– very good indeed. Best wishes For The Win!

    babs

     
  2. iluvspidrs

    October 19, 2009 at 9:11 PM

    Hi. I got your message about your blog and decided to check it out. You’ve got a lot of interesting posts here that I can’t wait to read.

    the only thing keeping me from participating in the NaNo challenge is my full-time job and my 2 other projects going on. (plus I drive for a total of 1 1/2 hours every day to get there and back.) maybe one of these years I’ll be able to participate.

     
    • iluvspidrs

      October 19, 2009 at 9:13 PM

      P.S.- My username on SCBWI is Hhook. This is just my wordpress one.

       
    • Maggie Wunderlich

      August 5, 2011 at 8:46 AM

      I totally understand. I haven’t completed NaNo YET. Maybe this year will be the year we both do it.

       
  3. Steadsuttepsy

    December 12, 2009 at 7:42 PM

    I highly enjoyed reading your post, keep up creating such exciting stuff!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
