RSS

The “I” generation

09 Jan

Kids and teenagers these days rely on technology for so much.  They’re always on the internet, iPod, iTouch, etc.  — the “I” generation!

Doing your homework and forgot the name of a character in The Odyssey?

My generation: get the book and look it up by thumbing through to where you think you saw it; “I” generation: google it.

Don’t understand a geometry problem?  My generation: go to the back of the book and hope there are answers to the odd questions which can shed light on your problem or ask a friend; “I” generation: google it.

Want to listen to a favorite song when you’re in the car?  My generation: hope it’s on the radio; reach for the iPod or iTouch.

Want to know the lyrics to a favorite song?  My generation: record it on your cassette player and replay it a thousand times until you get it;  “I” generation: you guessed it – google it.

All this technology makes it easier for kids – esp. homework – but is it better?  How do they become creative or good problem solvers if all they have to do is google it?  Also – how do they know the information on the internet is correct? Are ear buds (blasting loud music) that great for their hearing?  Does anyone else worry about this?

I love technology and rely on too, but I’m glad I was born before all of it took over our way of doing things.

Now, my generation says, “When I was your age, I had to actually open a book to find that out.”

Hmmm…that may replace the old “I walked five miles to school – each way” of my parents’ generation….

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 9, 2010 in kids, technology, teenagers

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “The “I” generation

  1. Shell

    January 29, 2010 at 12:44 PM

    How true! How true! We are showing our age.

     
  2. Alex

    May 27, 2010 at 2:34 PM

    Re the lyrics thing –

    In “our” youths, we also had the “look up lyrics in the LP liner notes” and “buy the sheet music/song book” options. Or get someone to transcribe the above-mentioned lyrics for us!

     

Leave a Reply

 
