RSS

Girls on the run is about more than running

18 Apr

There is a lot on the news about girl bullying and meanness and it’s very sad because many girls commit suicide as a result.  When I hear about this stuff, I don’t just want to sit around and talk about it — I want to get up and make a difference in girls’ lives.  I think back to my six years as a Girl Scout Leader, which I only stopped when my daughter quit two years ago. Our troop started out small and grew much larger through the years;  I feel blessed that I had the opportunity to watch these girls grow up.  GS is an amazing organization that helps girls try new things and grow in a safe environment. Even as an adult, I tried new things such as high ropes and the zip line. I hope that I made a difference in their lives. I know they made a difference in mine.

This year, I’m a co-coach for Girls on the Run, which is through the YMCA.  It’s about making healthy choices in their lives, both physically and mentally.  I highly recommend it for young girls (3rd – 8th grades) because it teaches them to feel strong in the inside so they can stand up for themselves to bullies or peer pressure.  This is so important to learn before they go to middle school – where the angst of puberty heightens feelings for fitting in and what your friends say is more important than what your mom says.  My thinking is that a girl who is secure about herself will have a better chance when she’s thrown in with the sharks in middle school.

If you have a daughter – don’t walk, RUN to to the nearest YMCA and find out how you can register your daughter for Girls on the Run for the fall session. Or, you can become a volunteer or make a donation.  Seriously,  it makes a huge impact on girls!

So far, we’ve only had two meetings and the girls are super and keep me laughing the whole time with their unique personalities.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 18, 2010 in kids, Teaching, teenagers

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Girls on the run is about more than running

  1. Shell

    April 23, 2010 at 2:00 PM

    What an awesome thing to fit into a busy schedule! I TRIED to talk my daughter into this for the last two years. It’s such a fantastic boost for a girls’ physical and mental well-being. Good for you!

     
  2. Maggie Wunderlich

    May 5, 2010 at 5:45 PM

    Thanks Shell! I always feel so good after I leave these meetings – I love it!

     
  3. charlene

    June 9, 2010 at 9:48 AM

    hi, Maggie
    Thank you for helping Kathy at the girlscout meetings, camps ,etc in the past years. She is independent in life management due to her girl scout practicing. i really appreciate that. i tried to be a girl scout leader and did not find myself a good fit. i admire your spirit.
    charlene

     
    • Maggie Wunderlich

      June 22, 2010 at 6:36 PM

      Thanks! I loved the experience of mentoring the girls and I’m glad to hear it helped Kathy.

       

Leave a Reply

 
