RSS

WIP – story of my life! :)

05 May

My first writer’s conference was amazing! I can’t believe I waited all these years to attend one, but I don’t believe in coincidences.

The opening speech was by Jay Asher,  who wrote “Thirteen Reasons Why“. It’s a YA novel on the  New York Times bestseller (for 60 weeks in a row, I think). His speech was hilarious as well as inspirational.   With his easy charm and great humor, he shared his story as an aspiring author and entry into the publishing world. I learned that you may start out writing one genre and end up discovering that you’re more gifted in an entirely different one.

Other speakers included editors and an agent. I learned a lot from all of these women.  It was great to see them as real people, instead of “the agent” or “publishers”. One main message I got from the editors is: use an agent – they very rarely publish a new author who doesn’t have an agent. Also, make sure it’s well written because the competition is huge. I just had to look around the conference room to bring this message home.  Another message is that my WIP (work in progress) is seriously in need of more revisions!! 🙂 More on this later.

The main message I got from the agent was that she had to believe in the manuscript to be able to sell it. I can totally understand this. This brings up another message: send ms to several agents because they are all individuals with different tastes.

In the middle of all this, I was fortunate to make the lottery for a chapter critique by Jay Asher! He was just as funny and nice during our one-on-one meeting. He made a line-by-line edit of my first chapter and ms synopsis, which was more than I expected. He had great advice and overall was quite positive. Thanks Jay! It was refreshing to hear his opinions and I felt encouraged to keep at it.

My revisions, based on the critique, were not too bad; I was able to make the changes as soon as I got home. However, I decided to shake things up some more and it is still a WIP. I’m even considering writing something new in a different genre just for the fun of it. And, writing is fun — I’m loving the process!  As much as it would be amazing to get published, I’m loving the ride along the way.

~~Maggie

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 5, 2010 in Funny, Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “WIP – story of my life! :)

  1. jannatwrites

    May 5, 2010 at 11:35 PM

    What an exciting opportunity for a detailed edit. Good for you!

    Keep enjoying the process since that’s most of what writing is. Good luck!

     
  2. Shell

    May 6, 2010 at 5:00 PM

    I subscribed to your blog, Maggie- very fun to see the notice in my inbox! And I agree, the conference was awesome!

     
  3. Sarah P.

    June 2, 2010 at 1:03 PM

    Hi Maggie,
    I was at the conference too and LOVED it. Jay Asher was awesome. He did a manuscript critique for me too and his advice was priceless!
    I hope you go to more conferences. Aren’t they the best?

     
    • Maggie Wunderlich

      August 5, 2011 at 8:57 AM

      Hi Sarah, I haven’t made it to another writing conference but would love to soon. Have you been to any more after that one? And – how’s your manuscript going?

       

Leave a Reply

 
