RSS

Japan Countdown – 21

02 Jun

In three weeks, I’m off to Japan!  From here on out, I’ll blog every couple of days with updates about the preparation, anticipation and information I gather.

Today’s update:

The good news: I’ll be in an aisle seat; The bad news: my seat’s in Timbuktu!  I’ve been there and the worst part is the waiting. Patiently.  The passengers ahead of you are slower than snails traveling through peanut butter, as the cliché goes.  With that said — and I always look on the bright side — there’s one perk for being in the back of the plane:  The proximity to the bathroom.  Hey — it’s a LONG flight.

My direct flight is 14 hours.  FOURTEEN HOURS! This will be my first flight for that many hours. Yikes! What do people do on such long flights?  Aside from listening to music, playing a game, reading, writing, and watching a movie, I’d love to hear from others who’ve flown that long.  What do you do? All tips are welcome and appreciated.

Oh yeah, and hey, I’m thankful I’m going at all!  Put my seat anywhere ya like.

~~ Maggie

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 2, 2012 in Games, travel

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Japan Countdown – 21

  1. agirlcalledemily

    June 2, 2012 at 7:05 AM

    Flights like these are horrible, especially if you’re like me and can’t sleep. Normally I watch a movie, but feel as if I’m about to fall asleep, but as soon as I turn the movie off, I’m wide awake again. I also listen to a lot of music. On the first time I flew NZ – Chile (13 hours) I spent a lot of the time just walking around the plane in the dark, talking to other people who were unable to sleep. The flight back I was exhausted so actually did get some sleep. The next time I took this same flight I was sitting by a nice peruvian man, who told me all about the food in Lima (my final destination) for hours and hours and hours….. I guess just be prepared with plently of music and a good book, and maybe some crosswords of sudoku puzzles if you’re into that, and try not to think about the long flight ahead!

     
  2. Michelle Isenhoff

    June 2, 2012 at 9:02 AM

    Books, books, books. Or start writing your next novel! 😉

     
  3. Maggie Wunderlich

    June 2, 2012 at 4:12 PM

    Thanks for the advice! I forgot about Sudoku and absolutely I’ll read and write. The sitting part will be the toughest part so I’ll walk as much as possible.

     
  4. Keiji kojima

    June 4, 2012 at 10:03 PM

    Nice blog you have. You may be better bring thin slippers to be more comfortable on the plane. Also what ever things interesting for you is good to keep you awake to manage jet lag. Novels works for me, but work staff never works because it is boring makes me asleep.

     
    • Maggie Wunderlich

      June 4, 2012 at 10:21 PM

      Keiji, Arrigato! Love the idea about the slippers and jet lag. I appreciate all your advice!

       

Leave a Reply

 
